eyebrows · makeup · makeup basics · mascara · Uncategorized

Makeup Basics

When I started makeup, I didn’t really know where to start. I knew I wanted to start somewhere, but where??? I gravitated to a few things at first, they were simple and easy to use. Here is my guide to the Basics of Makeup.

1. Eyelashes and Eyebrows

Have you ever heard of the saying eyes are the window to your soul? Well resonate with that quote, and think of it in makeup terms. Eyes are the frame to your face. They’re so super powerful, and how you use makeup to enhance them can make them look more magical than ever before.

The first basic makeup tip is mascara all the way. It was the first product I learned how to use and I love it. Mascara can help elongate your eyelashes without using falsies. Keep in mind all mascaras are different; you want to find one that will help with your eyes. Down below is a guide to show you all the different types of the mascara wands and their purpose. Keep in mine you should almost always curl your lashes, but be mindful that if you press too hard you can hurt your eye. AND NEVER CURL YOUR LASHES AFTER YOU APPLY MASCARA!!! YOU WILL CUT YOUR EYELASHES OFF THAT IS NOT JOKE!!!

Image result for types of mascara for types of lashes

Mascara doesn’t have to be expensive!!! Believe me I’m on a budget, I’m a college student I don’t have any money to spend $24 on the Better Than Sex Mascara by Too Faced. Drugstore mascara is just as good, AND saves you tons of money.  Here’s a link to Cosmo’s best drugstore mascara (super informative and lists the price) http://www.cosmopolitan.com/style-beauty/beauty/how-to/a56792/10-best-drugstore-mascaras/

Let’s talk about eyebrows shall we. I didn’t start doing my eyebrows until sophomore year of high school. I was introduced to wax, which was working but my skin was being irritated and my eyebrows weren’t cutting it. So my best friend introduced into the world of threading when I was a junior in high school, and I’ve never gone back.

I don’t want to say you have to do your eyebrows (getting them done I mean) but it is always good to groom them. Trimming them or brushing them out makes a huge difference, eyebrows frame the face much like the eyes. You want to have a good frame, especially for your face shape.

Products to use for your eyebrows are very strange. Benefit and Anastasia Beverly Hills have been dominating eyebrow products but they are expensive, and there are dupes out there that have are just as good.

Watch youtube videos that compare products to be able to see how the products work out, and how similar they are.  And remember pencil is just as good as pomade, I ditched my ABH Dipbrow because it was becoming too dry and I didn’t like the look. I’m using right now the REEMA Beauty Duo Brow Pencil. It was my first time using that product and I love it so much. It’s affordable, the product is so smooth and it comes with concealer!!!!!

Screenshot (82)

2. Lipstick and it’s Glory

I’m a sucker for lipstick, especially MATTE LIQUID LIPSTICK OH MY GOD!!! I have so much it’s completely insane. I’ve used lipstick before, but I never liked that it would bleed out (meaning it would stain above my lip line) and the feel was too glossy for me. Matte Liquid Lipstick is a lot easier to manage, especially if you got to school like me. It’s a good start to lipstick believe me it’s mess free and definitely affordable.

Dry lips is an issue for a lot of people, even for me. My lips get chapped a lot in the cold and matte liquid lipstick will definitely make your lips look and feel even more dry. BUT there’s a solution, exfoliate. Just get a teaspoon of sugar, and half a teaspoon of olive oil, mix it together and scrub your lips with that. It helps take off the dead skin and makes your lips super smooth. Afterwards just put on chapstick and you’re good to go.

NYX is a drugstore brand, and I’ve used their liquid lipstick for so long, they’re my got to. I personally like the NYX Lingerie more than their Liquid Suede.

Image result for nyx lingerie

These dry really fast, and they just came out with all more shades!!! They also stay on all day, I can eat, drink, chew gum and they don’t come off. I suggest if you want to start with lipstick look into NYX Lingerie and try it out.

 

I gave you a lot of info, I know. It maybe overwhelming, I know. I felt the same way when I jumped into using makeup, but believe me you will get there. It’s okay if you poke yourself in the eye with the mascara wand, if you draw on your eyebrows too harsh, if you get lipstick on your teeth. We’ve all been there, but like my boyfriend always says when I want to give up on makeup, practice makes perfect. You can’t get good at something if you’ve never tried.

Have fun!! ❤

Leave a Reply

